Dayton 600 Cuts Out After 3 Mins

chris fryer

Member
Riding for 102 Years
Local time
Today, 17:36
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Messages
4
Points
0
Age
64
Location
surrey
First Name
chris
My Ride
daytona 600
Can you help I have a 2004 Daytona600 . Bike starts ok when cold and runs for 3 mins then stops running . Checked Fuel pump which runns fine , checked relay and this operates and primes the fuel rail to correct pressure . The engine is only running on the prime fuel in the injector rail as the relay does not allow the pump to run continuously . Checked the ecu will Dealer tool Diagnostics and it shows speedometer output circuit fault . If I clear the fault the bike will not start untill I have left for a few hours then it starts and runs for 3 mins . Any ideas ???
 

Greyfell

Proud Nerd
Riding for 4 Years
Local time
Today, 09:36
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
3,137
Points
377
Age
65
Location
Northern California
First Name
Stephen
My Ride
2008 Triumph Bonneville T100 Ann-Margret
Don't you have a choke on that bike? When the bike warms up shouldn't you push in (open) the choke?
 

sikatri

Well-Known Member
Local time
Today, 11:36
Joined
May 25, 2019
Messages
1,364
Points
122
Age
61
Location
Houston
My Ride
2005 Triumph Thruxton 900
I’d look at fixing the fault code. Something is causing it and it’s the biggest clue you have. It may be peripheral and not directly the cause.
 

chris fryer

Member
Riding for 102 Years
Local time
Today, 17:36
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Messages
4
Points
0
Age
64
Location
surrey
First Name
chris
My Ride
daytona 600
I’d look at fixing the fault code. Something is causing it and it’s the biggest clue you have. It may be peripheral and not directly the cause.
Have cleared all fault codes but stiil it cuts out after 3 mins . Checked the fuel line pressure today and it is correct at 3 bar . When it cuts out I have now checked the injectors and they dont spray also when it cuts out there is also no sparks at the plugs . Removed the crank sensor and cleaned it . Checked the continuity of this circuit and it is ok . Could a fault crank sensor make it cut out after a sort time ? Shall recheck injectors and spark tomorrow when it gone cold and see what i get .
 

Greyfell

Proud Nerd
Riding for 4 Years
Local time
Today, 09:36
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
3,137
Points
377
Age
65
Location
Northern California
First Name
Stephen
My Ride
2008 Triumph Bonneville T100 Ann-Margret
OK, in my opinion, something electrical is at work. Sorry, for being wrong on the choke, but I thought a 2004 bike was more likely to be carbureted than EFI.
What you seem to have is an electrical component that gets hot and opens the circuit, and the circuit doesn't close until it cools down. If you have a voltage regulator/rectifier, I would start there. If you don't, I hope my description leads you in the right direction.
 

shanered6

Time for adventure
Riding for 45 Years
Staff
Local time
Today, 17:36
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6,664
Points
563
Age
53
Location
Turriff, Aberdeenshire
First Name
shane llywarch
My Ride
Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 ntx
check your coil packs and see if there getting hot ?
 

shanered6

Time for adventure
Riding for 45 Years
Staff
Local time
Today, 17:36
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6,664
Points
563
Age
53
Location
Turriff, Aberdeenshire
First Name
shane llywarch
My Ride
Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 ntx
OH ! and have a look at your ignition switch ..... when the bike cuts out and you have no spark try swiching the switch on and off a few times and see if you get spark ?
 

chris fryer

Member
Riding for 102 Years
Local time
Today, 17:36
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Messages
4
Points
0
Age
64
Location
surrey
First Name
chris
My Ride
daytona 600
Thanks for all the advise . I will try them all today .Question would a faulty crankshaft sensor cause the ecu to shut down the engine ?
 

shanered6

Time for adventure
Riding for 45 Years
Staff
Local time
Today, 17:36
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6,664
Points
563
Age
53
Location
Turriff, Aberdeenshire
First Name
shane llywarch
My Ride
Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 ntx
Short answer YES !
 

sikatri

Well-Known Member
Local time
Today, 11:36
Joined
May 25, 2019
Messages
1,364
Points
122
Age
61
Location
Houston
My Ride
2005 Triumph Thruxton 900
Thanks for all the advise . I will try them all today .Question would a faulty crankshaft sensor cause the ecu to shut down the engine ?
Did you resolve the issue?
 
Premium

Support TriumphTalk by becoming a Premium Member.

 What You Get

Donate

 

 

Search

Top Bottom