Dealer Tool Software?

Tom

Member
Riding for 5 Years
Local time
Yesterday, 22:25
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
2
Points
2
Age
67
Location
Illinois USA
First Name
Tom
My Ride
Triumph Rocket III Touring
Just curious if anyone has actually bought and used the Dealer Tool program and connector? I am contemplating getting it as it sounds like it will save you a lot in the long run with regards to dealer scans, etc.

I realize this thread is old but people will still find it as I just did so I thought I'd relate my experience with DealerTool so far.

I purchased DealerTool last year when I bought a new Rocket III Touring thinking that it would come in handy for bleeding the ABS system, etc. I also bought TuneECU at the same time. I hadn't use either until this week and I still haven't used TuneECU.

I had a problem loading up the DealerTool driver for the cable. I contacted DealerTool. Their responses indicated that they weren't reading my message because they asked for information that I included in my question - such as operating system, etc. Then it suddently dawned on me that, like an idiot, the problem I was having was because I had grabbed the TuneECU cable by accident. So I tried loading the drive up with the correct (DealerTool) cable but the cable driver would only load up by using their alternative driver install method - which was fine. However, when I went to read ECU data, I got an error (see below). I contacted DealerTool again, apologizing for my error with the cables but asking for help with the error I was getting with the correct cable. They haven't responded to two messages. I'm leaving on a trip tomorrow and want to finishing bleeding the brakes while I have things apart including the ABS system and I let DT know that I was leaving on a trip but it appears that they are ignoring me. So, as it stands now, I just wasted money on DT. No matter what I try, I get the same error. COM Ports match in Device Manager and DT options. I've reloaded the software repeatedly while having no internet connection as recommendied but the results are always the same.

At this point, I'm disappointed with DT.

If anyone has seen an error like this, I'd appreciate any help you can provide. Below is a snap of Device Manager, DT options (showing the COM port was correct), and the strange error message I get.
 

Attachments

  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    89.1 KB · Views: 9
  • Capture2.JPG
    Capture2.JPG
    22.8 KB · Views: 9
  • Capture3.JPG
    Capture3.JPG
    36 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:

DaveM

Rock & Roll
Riding for 48 Years
Administrator
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
51,481
Points
1,327
First Name
Dave
My Ride
Speedmaster
I realize this thread is old but people will still find it as I just did so I thought I'd relate my experience with DealerTool so far.

I purchased DealerTool last year when I bought a new Rocket III Touring thinking that it would come in handy for bleeding the ABS system, etc. I also bought TuneECU at the same time. I hadn't use either until this week and I still haven't used TuneECU.

I had a problem loading up the DealerTool driver for the cable. I contacted DealerTool. Their responses indicated that they weren't reading my message because they asked for information that I included in my question - such as operating system, etc. Then it suddently dawned on me that, like an idiot, the problem I was having was because I had grabbed the TuneECU cable by accident. So I tried loading the drive up with the correct (DealerTool) cable but the cable driver would only load up by using their alternative driver install method - which was fine. However, when I went to read ECU data, I got an error (see below). I contacted DealerTool again, apologizing for my error with the cables but asking for help with the error I was getting with the correct cable. They haven't responded to two messages. I'm leaving on a trip tomorrow and want to finishing bleeding the brakes while I have things apart including the ABS system and I let DT know that I was leaving on a trip but it appears that they are ignoring me. So, as it stands now, I just wasted money on DT. No matter what I try, I get the same error. COM Ports match in Device Manager and DT options. I've reloaded the software repeatedly while having no internet connection as recommendied but the results are always the same.

At this point, I'm disappointed with DT.

If anyone has seen an error like this, I'd appreciate any help you can provide. Below is a snap of Device Manager, DT options (showing the COM port was correct), and the strange error message I get.

The problem you having here is the USB to serial converter as not all of these are a full series connection as a normal cable would be wired 1 to 1 and so on. You need to purchase a serial to USB converter that allows a full serial connection. Remember this type of tool needs two way communications and the cheaper serial to USB only allow a one way connection.
 

Tom

Member
Riding for 5 Years
Local time
Yesterday, 22:25
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
2
Points
2
Age
67
Location
Illinois USA
First Name
Tom
My Ride
Triumph Rocket III Touring
The problem you having here is the USB to serial converter as not all of these are a full series connection as a normal cable would be wired 1 to 1 and so on. You need to purchase a serial to USB converter that allows a full serial connection. Remember this type of tool needs two way communications and the cheaper serial to USB only allow a one way connection.

Nope! It's not the cable. As I mentioned in my post, I had the correct DT cable. I got it directly from DealerTool when I ordered the DT program. It's ver. 2.5. (See attached picture.)

DT finally did get back to me and we used a remote assistance tool and they ran the procedure. (I was going to edit my original post to reflect that but it won't allow me to edit that post for some reason.) Funny thing is, it worked for them and they loaded the same exact cable driver that I loaded repeatedly with no luck using the same exact procedure. I know because I watched the entire procedure in real-time as they did it. They unlocked DT and ran a couple diagnostic tests as I watched and they worked fine.

I'm leaving the laptop on and DT open until my wife gets home when she will assist me while I open and close the bleeders as she works the brakes and tops off the master cylinders (she's been my brake bleeding assistant for 51 years! :) in case I run into the same problem when everything is re-booted.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0588.JPG
    IMG_0588.JPG
    558.8 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:

DaveM

Rock & Roll
Riding for 48 Years
Administrator
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
51,481
Points
1,327
First Name
Dave
My Ride
Speedmaster
Well it is nice to know they got it working for you then, keep us posted on how it goes.
 

PhantomII

Member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:25
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
17
Points
7
Age
55
Location
Tampa, FL
First Name
Devin
My Ride
2016 Triumph Street Twin
I realize this thread is old but people will still find it as I just did so I thought I'd relate my experience with DealerTool so far.

I purchased DealerTool last year when I bought a new Rocket III Touring thinking that it would come in handy for bleeding the ABS system, etc. I also bought TuneECU at the same time. I hadn't use either until this week and I still haven't used TuneECU.

I had a problem loading up the DealerTool driver for the cable. I contacted DealerTool. Their responses indicated that they weren't reading my message because they asked for information that I included in my question - such as operating system, etc. Then it suddently dawned on me that, like an idiot, the problem I was having was because I had grabbed the TuneECU cable by accident. So I tried loading the drive up with the correct (DealerTool) cable but the cable driver would only load up by using their alternative driver install method - which was fine. However, when I went to read ECU data, I got an error (see below). I contacted DealerTool again, apologizing for my error with the cables but asking for help with the error I was getting with the correct cable. They haven't responded to two messages. I'm leaving on a trip tomorrow and want to finishing bleeding the brakes while I have things apart including the ABS system and I let DT know that I was leaving on a trip but it appears that they are ignoring me. So, as it stands now, I just wasted money on DT. No matter what I try, I get the same error. COM Ports match in Device Manager and DT options. I've reloaded the software repeatedly while having no internet connection as recommendied but the results are always the same.

At this point, I'm disappointed with DT.

If anyone has seen an error like this, I'd appreciate any help you can provide. Below is a snap of Device Manager, DT options (showing the COM port was correct), and the strange error message I get.
 

PhantomII

Member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:25
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
17
Points
7
Age
55
Location
Tampa, FL
First Name
Devin
My Ride
2016 Triumph Street Twin
Tom,

Under the options screen where it shows the com port numer you have to click on it to highlight it then it will work, I had the same issue until Idid that.
 

VABird

Member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:25
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
97
Points
17
Age
67
Location
Virginia USA
First Name
Bob
My Ride
2012 T-Bird 1600 ABS
Sounds like it may be worth buying even if you only clear a couple codes and reset the service wrench indicator after an oil change. Just to clarify, resetting the speedo would be useful if you changed out a front or rear sprocket?

Don't really need DealerTool for resetting codes. One of those inexpensive code readers from Auto Zone, etc will do that. D.T will allow you to open the ABS valves for a brake fluid flush, where Tune ECU will not. To my knowledge, D.T will not allow you to change maps. Tune ECU will.
If you trade Triumphs often or have more than one, I'd recommend paying about another $125 for use on unlimited bikes. Otherwise it is for one specific serial number.
 

rodhotter

Active Member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:25
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
140
Points
27
Location
coal township
First Name
bernard czech
My Ride
2012 triumph bonneville
dealer tool looks to be a useful tool @ a fair price but unlike TuneEcu it looks you can't tune your bike. i am aware the newer models do not work with TuneEcu either!!
 

brooke

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Today, 00:25
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
1,085
Points
152
Age
72
Location
Charlottetown
First Name
Brooke
My Ride
16 thruxton r. 2011 tiger 800
Which bikes can be tuned (remapped) with tune ECU. From what I understand triumphs from 2014 up or so have locked ECU s . I have followed the subject since I got my 16 Thruxton and have yet to find any one who can open the ECU for re tuning without the factory provided code ...and then what ?
 

alke46

Member
Riding for 44 Years
Local time
Yesterday, 22:25
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
17
Points
7
Age
76
Location
Omaha, Ne. 68136
First Name
Larry
My Ride
2019 Triumph Tiger 800 XRT
I just learned over the past weekend that a different tool is available for a lot of issues. The tool is the "tiger tool".

While I am a noob to these instruments, what can the forum tell me about the tiger tool? What can I do with it? etc.,etc.
 

brooke

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Today, 00:25
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
1,085
Points
152
Age
72
Location
Charlottetown
First Name
Brooke
My Ride
16 thruxton r. 2011 tiger 800
I know nothing ..
 

brooke

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Today, 00:25
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
1,085
Points
152
Age
72
Location
Charlottetown
First Name
Brooke
My Ride
16 thruxton r. 2011 tiger 800
Was going to use nutting but wasn’t sure how that would work . Sharp as usual Greyfell .
 

brooke

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Today, 00:25
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
1,085
Points
152
Age
72
Location
Charlottetown
First Name
Brooke
My Ride
16 thruxton r. 2011 tiger 800
I know something . Got it from my friend Google . Appears the the tiger tool is an inexpensive obd scanner from my friend China . Basically an automotive tool which happens to work on Gen 1 tigers ,up to ‘ 14 ? , . Had my 2011 tiger’s wrench erased by an auto tech friend years ago .Took about 30 seconds once we got the seat off . 10k km later it reappeared , been on ever since ..
 

Vector

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Yesterday, 20:25
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
794
Points
127
Location
NV
First Name
Gary
My Ride
2022 Street Twin
Thanx Hemibee :y45:, I also found that link but just wanted a second opinion.
I am considering to buy from them but will first have to find out on shipping as I have been waiting 6weeks for handlebar risers from two different suppliers within the US. I think the shipping issue is on our side and my one item can not be traced at all. :ohwell:
I wish to buy the tool, did you order from this company, and did you receive it?
Anyone know of a USA based seller?
 

brooke

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Today, 00:25
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
1,085
Points
152
Age
72
Location
Charlottetown
First Name
Brooke
My Ride
16 thruxton r. 2011 tiger 800
I know something . Got it from my friend Google . Appears the the tiger tool is an inexpensive obd scanner from my friend China . Basically an automotive tool which happens to work on Gen 1 tigers ,up to ‘ 14 ? , . Had my 2011 tiger’s wrench erased by an auto tech friend years ago .Took about 30 seconds once we got the seat off . 10k km later it reappeared , been on ever since ..
And if you do have dealer tool or tune ECU or for some reason you have a friendly Dealer open up the ECU , adjust the service interval mileage setting to 99,999 then the flashing reminder shouldn’t show up for quite a while . The reminder on the 2023 Tiger doesn’t flash so it’s not an issue.
 

brooke

Well-Known Member
Riding for 52 Years
Local time
Today, 00:25
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
1,085
Points
152
Age
72
Location
Charlottetown
First Name
Brooke
My Ride
16 thruxton r. 2011 tiger 800
I wish to buy the tool, did you order from this company, and did you receive it?
Anyone know of a USA based seller?
I’m sure I ordered my Dealer Tool , Decat and Bars for the R direct from the UK . Fast , cheap shipping , and saved cash compared buying in North America . The $ is very strong against the European currencies now also . Less mark ups since things pass through less hands , I think , just saying . A lot of this stuff is made in the UK .
 

Leroys73

New Member
Riding for 57 Years
Local time
Yesterday, 22:25
Joined
Jun 19, 2022
Messages
5
Points
2
Age
73
Location
Dallas area
First Name
Jerry
My Ride
Yamaha Royal Star Venture trading to Tiger 900 GT Pro
I have had terrible responses to no response from Dealer Tool Customer service. I had to request my Key 3 times after waiting 2 to 3 days between requests.

I now have an issue with it not functioning correctly. I requested help from customer service another 3 times over several weeks. No reply.

Has anyone else had issues with customer service? I understood their CS was good. I am not impressed.
 
Premium

Support TriumphTalk by becoming a Premium Member.

 What You Get

Donate

 

 

Search

Top Bottom