BlueKraut

Local time
Today, 07:59
First Name
Andy
My Ride
Triumph TR6P (1969) frame with T140V (1979) engine
Hi All
This is my first post her so bear with me if the answer has already been given somewhere.

I have decided to put a new wiring harness on my 1969 TR6 P with a T140V engine. I have never done this before so I would like some advice and preferably an idiots guide.
The old harness is still in place. I talked to MES in the UK and they have supplied me with a harness based on the mods on the bike: Boyer electronic ignition, and a solid voltage regulator instead of the Zener diode and rectifier plus bullseye indicators.
I now need to fit the harness and, before I make a "pigs ear" of it, I was hoping someone might point me in the right direction. Is there a good guide or a Youtube video which might help me?

Bluekraut

I replaced both wiring harnesses on my vintage bikes with a new harness and it wasn't that hard at all.
As the saying goes, if I can do it anyone can do it.
First of all, take some time to study the harness already in place and become familiar with what goes where.
At the same time study the new harness and compare the two as you explore. It will quickly make sense.
If necessary, attach some notes to the new wires if you don't trust your memory, but once you lay the harness on the frame the wires should almost fall in place.
I don't know of any YouTube's on the subject. I just went ahead and did it.
The important thing is to make sure your ground/earth wires are attached solidly and to a clean and dry point.
To ward off corrosion, I always use dielectric grease in all connections.
My new harnesses have been in place for nearly 20 years and I've never had any electrical or corrosion problems.
It's really not that hard so have a go. Good luck and take your time. Slow but sure wins the race BGRIN

Rocky's advice is sound. One or two others have changed their harness more recently, and they might chime in with more information soon.