T140E rocker box torque?

t140guy

Local time
Yesterday, 23:16
My Ride
1978 T140E, Tiger Gold & Tawny Brown
Hey guys. Anyone know the torque for the rocker box bolts on a T140E? Trying to fix the oil leaks with new gaskets and o rings. Thanks

I got to the point where I just felt the "snugness" of the fastener, then stopped tightening (except on rod nuts and head bolts)

I agree with GP. Tight is tight enough or you risk stripping the threads.
Smooth flat mating surfaces and good gaskets should be good enough to stop leaks.

I agree with GP and Rocky.

torque for the rocker box bolts on a T140E? Trying to fix the oil leaks with new gaskets and o rings.
I see you've made just two posts to this forum, four and a half years apart. So you're either very experienced with Triumph twins or a complete newbie. If the latter, descriptions like "snug", "tight", etc. by long-time experienced owners are likely as much use as a chocolate fireguard ...

If you're a newbie:-

. There are four bolts of two different sizes and three nuts attaching each rockerbox to the cylinder head. The different torque settings are all in the proper Triumph workshop manual, at the end of the "GENERAL DATA" section, under "TORQUE WRENCH SETTINGS (DRY)" (just before the start of the "ROUTINE MAINTENANCE" section)?

. If you don't have a proper Triumph workshop manual, they're available new through decent Triumph parts retailers or direct from the publisher in England - 1979-83 Triumph 750 workshop manual. Buy one because you'll need it for more than fixing oil leaks from the rockerboxes.

. A proper Triumph parts book for your bike's model year is also available either from the same sources (the publisher in England, scroll down to find the one matching your bike's model year) or free to read online - Vintage Bike Magazine » Parts Books and click on the link to the book you want.